AW Surveys

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Types /level of biodiversity:

There are 3 types /level of biodiversity. They are:
Genetic diversity.
Species diversity.
Ecosystem diversity.
Genetic diversity:
Genetic diversity occurs within and between types of species as well as between species. It means the variation of genes within species. Chromosomes, genes, and DNA determine the uniqueness of each species. This includes genetic variation within species, both among geographically separated populations and among individuals within a single population. This genetic diversity is result of different modes of adaptation in different habitats, providing organisms and ecosystems with the capacity to recuperate after change has occurred. Thus, this diversity can be viewed in three levels:
Diversity among species.
Genetic variability between individuals within population.
Genetic variability among population within species.
Genetic diversity can be measured within a variety of DNA and other techniques. The part of genetic variation present in an interbreeding population is shaped by selection.
Species diversity:
Species diversity refers to the variety of living species. This diversity denotes the variety of species on earth from as cellular viruses to single celled microorganisms like bacteria, mycoplasmas, agronomists etc, to multi cellular plants and animals. For proper functioning of a particular community or ecosystem, species diversity is very essential. In a community the survival of all species is interrelated to the existence of other living organisms. Aspects of species can be measured in a number of ways. Most of these ways can be classified into three types of measurement, they are listed below:
Species richness.
Species abundance.
Species taxonomic or phylogenetic diversity.
The main reason for species diversity is variation in physical aspect.

No comments:

Post a Comment